21 weeks post #hipreplacement

Archive, Arthritis, Health, Hips, Hypermobility, Hip replacement, SURGERY

After all the excitement of orbital on Friday 31st may, I’ve done little in moving, due to massive increase of pains. So much so I’d had to take tramadol on that Friday.

So the whole weekend was catching up with #Terminator 1 and 2 movies, and various TV shows too. It was a tad boring, but very very necessary to allow pains to subside.

This week has seen me go back to basics, more to train the mind to muscle memory, so no weights, no resistance. Just purely focusing the mind on the muscle and contracting it, ensuring they are engaging properly, and not having other muscles (stronger ones from taking over the job) I find my quads do this over my glutes.

  • Glute squeezes 20reps
  • Quad (pull knee caps up) 20reps
  • Heel Slide 20reps
  • Short Arc quad 20reps
  • Hip abduction 20reps
  • Clam side drop downs 20reps
  • Clam side raise 20reps (finally I’m ok ish lying on operated side)
  • Hip bridge (really squeezing glutes, so quads don’t take over) 20reps
  • Dead bugs 20reps
  • Long arc quad 20reps
  • Ball squeezes between ankles 20reps
  • Ball squeezes between knees 20reps

Felt good to get thing moving and lubricated. I’m seeing improvements on the operated leg, though the weakness the opposite hip has is apparent!! So is that bone or muscle? Not sure, there’s no pain just utter weakness and limitations.

Really focusing on each muscle during the exercise, made it easier to contract the muscle, and hold for longer, tighter. So this week I’m definitely putting this into practice more. Even going to try it with the upper body too.

Had a physio appointment this week which was in a previous post here. It was a pure killer one too. The ache and stiffness afterwards was no joke!!

So Wednesday my official 21 weeks post op day is rest day. And that means #terminator3 never seen before. I know it’s pants, but I don’t care I’m watching it. Awful wet weather outside, so no walking planned either. It’s hot water bottles and rest rest rest.

Thursday I’m still aching a fair bit (groin and lower back especially), so resting the lower half and just doing exercises for the upper body. No weights just contracting the muscle and moving them in isolation. Or use a towel to grip and tighten (really helps) I use a towel, as it makes me focus easier on contracting the muscles.

  • Tricep overhead 20 reps
  • Tricep kickback 20 reps
  • Bicep curl 20 reps
  • Lateral raise 20 reps
  • Shoulder press 20 reps

Slow and steady wins the race at this point, keeping it simple and small for now. Not using weights helps with the thumbs and fingers at the moment, which are predictably flaring up.

I’m resorting to using ibuprofen gel 4 times a day, using compression gloves nightly, and splints during the day. ( Night time is when it’s horrendously bad, like being in a vice grips!!) But I have rung the GP so I’m going to enquire on regular blood tests, and better medication too.

Friday it’s my Wedding Anniversary 18yrs married, 20years together. I can honestly say it’s flown by so fast, it’s scary. There’s not a day he hasn’t made me giggle. I would not be without my biggest champion.

And we are off on Saturday to hopefully sunny Barmouth, probably will rain. But no matter, a night away with family to bond, relax and change of scenery too. So Friday was prepping our clothes, packing essentials, and doing good to take for the journey. Sadly tramadol will be also coming along with me too.

8 thoughts on “21 weeks post #hipreplacement

  1. My husband had a hip replacement some years ago and it was a good while before he was up and walking properly. Now it’s a distant memory and it’s the best thing ever, he was in so much pain before. Hang on in there, at your own pace, you can get through this – and happy anniversary in the meantime! Lisa x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment