First Night home, Day 2 post #HipReplacement

Archive, Arthritis, Covid -19 ~ Week Seventy Two, Covid-19 Lockdown, Health, Hips, Hypermobility, Hip replacement, SURGERY

Oh what a glorious sleep!! I am very very grateful that I managed to go home and dive into my own bed, and be gently lulled to dreamland in my cosy fresh bedding.

Water seems to be my greatest love to drink, and I’m not knocking it, as it’s good for healing.

I’ve had a lot of hiccups this time round, apparently caused by mild nerve damage when the tube is down the throat. But my teeth haven’t been broken, so that’s a win. And the itchy skin has settled as I’m not on morphine anymore.

Only needed paracetamol at 2.30am and I had 1 tramadol at 9am. So far so good. Had 2 paracetamol at midday.

Wrist is sore and bruised but expected after the cannula, and will soon heal.

First jobs today for me is getting dressed. And maybe tackling some of the many physio exercises I’ve been given. Heel Slides and Hip Abuction are a no go at the moment, not enough strength yet.

Noticed my knees are very out of alignment but as I’ve had this before, I know it eventually settles down and becomes equal. Still always a shock to see at first.

Pain wise my lower back is bad, but that is from the spinal, and I expected this, and I’m using hot water bottles to combat it. Wound feels tight and a bit stingy. But manageable so far. Knee on the left replaced leg is nagging, again I expected it as I felt it after my right hip replacement.

What I didn’t expect was my right hip to feel so tired and achey, but perhaps as I’m leaning on it while walking, as full weight bearing thrpugh left feels impossible at the moment though allowed. It’s bearing the brunt of all my weight, and I was rolled onto that hip during the operation.

So full on rest and recover day, I’m not rushing to be active in these early days.

Leave a comment